9/28/2012: Hockey Today

— I finally have time to catch you up on the past two days of hockey news. And there is quite a bit.

— Really productive day in Newark at Albany Devils camp today. I shot “Masked Men” videos with Maxime Clermont, Scott Wedgewood, Jeff Frazee and Keith Kinkaid. The Clermont one is already posted, and I’ll have the others in time on the blog.

I also interviewed each player separately for a story on the goaltending jam in Albany, and spoke to Corbin McPherson and Eric Baier. You can read a big feature on Baier in Sunday’s Trentonian. I’ll have plenty of A-Devils camp content soon, including a photo gallery and original stories.

In addition to my phoner with Brad Smyth, I also spoke to Orlando Solar Bears goaltender Drew Palmisano today, which you’ll see down the road as well.

According to the ECHL, Scott Gomez has re-signed with the Alaska Aces. According to Gomez, well… (Photo: Mike Ashmore)

— Again, the ECHL has got the top story today. In the league’s daily transactions e-mail, they announced that Scott Gomez was going to be re-joining the Alaska Aces, just as he did during the 2004-05 lockout. In addition, he was to be joined by Nate Thompson and Joey Crabb. However, Gomez has denied the story via text to a Montreal reporter. Hmmm…

— The AHL has named their 2013 Hall of Fame class. Straight from the press release:

Honored by the AHL Hall of Fame Selection Committee as the eighth group of enshrinees are Harvey Bennett, Sr., Ken Gernander, Jim Morrison and Peter White.

“With their illustrious careers and outstanding achievements, these four individuals represent the best of the best in the storied history of the American Hockey League,” said David Andrews, AHL President and Chief Executive Officer. “The AHL Board of Governors unanimously approves the Selection Committee’s recommendation for their induction into the American Hockey League Hall of Fame.”

— The AHL’s Worcester Sharks signed six players to AHL deals so that they can play at that level during the lockout. Forwards Tim Kennedy, Brandon Mashinter, John McCarthy, Frazer McLaren and defensemen Matt Pelech and Nick Petrecki have all agreed to deals.

Today, they also added James Sheppard. Sheppard, picked ninth overall in 2006 and sidetracked by injuries, last played in the NHL with Minnesota in 2009-10.

Tyson Strachan returns to the San Antonio Rampage on a PTO (Photo: Mike Ashmore)

— The San Antonio Rampage signed defenseman Tyson Strachan to a PTO. Strachan primarily played with the Rampage last season, but also played in 15 games for the Panthers, as well as two postseason contests.

— The Albany Devils were one of many AHL teams to officially unveil their training camp roster…and yes, I would know. Adam Henrique, Adam Larsson, Jacob Josefson and Mattias Tedenby are among the notables.

Reilly Smith looks to start his first full pro season with the Texas Stars (Photo: Mike Ashmore)

— The Texas Stars have got some talent in their camp. Among the bigger names are Jack Campbell, Austin Smith, Reilly Smith, Colton Sceviour, Tomas Vincour and Cam Barker.

— Oklahoma City’s roster came out and, as expected, Jordan Eberle and Ryan Nugent-Hopkins are on it. Nugent-Hopkins will not wear his customary 93, and will instead use 18.

Beau Bennett, former first round pick of the Penguins, will make his pro debut in Scranton Wilkes-Barre this season (Photo: Mike Ashmore)

— Scranton Wilkes-Barre’s roster has been released. Beau Bennett, Eric Tangradi, Robert Bortuzzo and Simon Despres are among the names you may know. Bennett, who was Pittsburgh’s first round pick in 2010, played a season and a half at the University of Denver and will be making his pro debut.

— Peoria’s roster includes Stefan Della Rovere, Evgeny Grachev and Jaden Schwartz.

— The Hershey Bears will have another talented group this year. Among this year’s players in camp are Braden Holtby, Philipp Grubauer and Dmitry Orlov.

— Highlighting Grand Rapids’ camp roster are Petr Mrazek, Brendan Smith and Gustavy Nyquist. Tomas Tatar is playing overseas, but the team says he’ll be back in time for the first game.

— The ECHL has changed all playoff rounds back to a best-of-seven. They had previously reduced the first round to a best-of-five.
— The ECHL Idaho Steelheads added goalie Ryan Zapolski to their roster. Zapolski, who has bounced around between a few teams, is out of Mercyhurst College and will be in camp with Idaho this weekend.

Mike Ashmore, mashmore98 AT gmail.com


Talk hockey...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: